11 replies to this topic

#1 houtex54

houtex54

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 14 January 2016 - 06:38 PM

Copying this post from Discussion Boards heading:

My oncologist informed me at my regular six month checkup that the Tasigna clinical trial I have been participating in since July 2007 is completed and will end March 31.  I am confused as to what to do next - and what the group thinks.  

I might like to participate in a TKI cessation trial, but the hospital where I am currently being treated in Houston doesn't seem to be participating in TKI cessation trials. 

I first thought that I could not swing the $10K/month cost of continuing the medication, but we checked with my Rx coverage insurer and my cost should be much less than that - and although still expensive, at least it is affordable (something like paying an extra car note).  

The clinical trial protocol was 400 mg 2x per day,  I think I'd like to decrease dosage to no more than 300 mg 2x per day -  but I'm reluctant to try something like that outside of a clinical trial protocol.  

Tasigna has been a very good drug for me.  Side effects have been tolerable and controllable - if indeed they are side effects of Tasigna and not side effects of being 61 years old.  Tasigna got my disease level to CMR in less than a year, and has kept me PCRU since 2008.  

#2 Buzzm1

Buzzm1

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 972 posts
  • LocationSilicon Valley

Posted 14 January 2016 - 06:59 PM

houtex54, you have been PCRU since 2008 ... the odds of you successfully ceasing TKI treatment are in your favor, STOP study, or no STOP study ... duration of TKI treatment and duration of PCRU are factors in your favor.

Here are quick summaries of some of the STOP studies: http://bit.ly/1XyGyL5

STOP conclusions bit.ly/22UI6zh

STOPPING bit.ly/1P1MMZB

For the benefit of yourself and others please add your CML history into your Signature

02/2010 Gleevec 400mg