• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 PAMKELLAHER

PAMKELLAHER

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 31 August 2011 - 05:49 PM

Okay just got results.  Been on Gleevec for one year and Sprycel for 1 and 1/2.  Gleevec failed and now it seems like Sprycel has too!  Went from Fish of @2% up to 16% in 3 months. Retested and they did PCR (Never had before ) and that was 35%.  Also came back that I have the Trisomy 8.  Anyone know what this means?  I read everything on these boards everday but hardly ever post!  Please let me know what this means!  Thank you for your help!  I'm stressing so bad!!  Lost 8 lbs i the last month!  Thanks Pam

#2 Taylor

Taylor

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 01 September 2011 - 10:13 AM

Hi Pam,

I did a search and Trisomy 8 can appear due to some instability by the bcr-abl gene on the Ph+ chromosome.  So I wouldn't worry about that part.  As for the other part, I can't help, I'm pretty new to all of this, but I hope everything works out!

Taylor

#3 Trey

Trey

Advanced Member

• PS Beta Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,705 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas

Posted 01 September 2011 - 11:18 AM

Since you also privately emailed me I will provide my response here as well:

You have certainly had more than your share of issues.  You are a
fairly slow responder to drug therapy - probably in the bottom 25% of
responders to TKI drug therapy.  And it certainly would be better to
not have the Trisomy 8, but this is not always an indicator of a
poorer outcome.  For some it can come and go.  Some researchers think
the TKI drugs can cause the Trisomy 8.  Trisomy means "three", so you
have an extra chromosome 8 in some blood cells.  Most people have two,
but you have three.  It is not as good if the Trisomy 8 is in the
normal (non-leukemic) cells.  Ask your Onc if the Trisomy 8 is in the
leukemic cells or in the normal blood cells.

Along with the Derivative 9 (der 9), adding the Trisomy 8 means you