Photo

Just found out my new partner has CML...

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 GF of a man with CML

GF of a man with CML

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 February 2017 - 12:53 AM

Hi there every one, I'm sorry if i had posted this in the wrong spot but i am new to this page and wasnt sure where to start.

I guess ill start at the beginning. 

Long story short I have met the most amazing man and have fallen for him very quickly and he has recently told me that he has CML. I am studying nursing and have an idea about Leukaemia, but i got on google any way and read a lot !  

My feelings havent changed toward him what so ever! if anything they have gotten stronger. He hates it when i get concerned or worry about him, but it is so hard to try and ignore the fact that he works way too hard and doesnt eat enough when he is busy at work (even though the dietician has told him he needs to gain weight). 

I want to be there for him when he talks to me about how he is feeling and when he tells me what the doctor says at appointments, but it is difficult to not want to protect him and make sure he is ok all the time. 

The last thing i want to sound like is a poor girlfriend that is struggling with his diagnosis, when really he is the one who is going through it and has the actual disease. 

And the biggest thing is the fact that his type of Leukaemia (CML) isnt curable...

I am in this with him for the long haul, I would just love some advice of other partners going through this with their loved one and ways how they support their person with out seeming controlling and overbearing.

Any information would also be wonderful.

Thank you so much in advance.  

From a lost and confused GF of a man with CML.

#2 Trey

Trey

Advanced Member

• PS Beta Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,705 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas

Posted 10 February 2017 - 09:25 AM