#1 Lisa Lisa

Lisa Lisa

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
  • LocationNew York

Posted 15 March 2015 - 04:08 PM

Well hey there, here I am still in shock. Left my job after 25 years this summer, turned 50 in December and all set to enjoy phase Ii of my life with my retired husband. Take a family vacation over New Years, yep, livin the life. Then WHAM, get the rug pulled out from under my feet.
I thought I was just run down after the vacation, got a bad cold and what I thought was a 6 week sinus infection. Could not shake the sickness, the feeling of somethin else brewin set in. When my WBC, platelets and basos came back high my hematologist said, "just one more test". Confirmed CML, BCR/ABL via blood testing.
I am new to the CML testing and the levels and the words. But I have seen two drs. In NYC (one for second opinion). both want to put me on the Sprycel. I ask why, because I am a believer in "slow and steady wins the race". Why use Sprycel when Gleevec is proven to work for so many for long periods of time. The Sprycel is, for sure, what they want to knock it out faster, but as of yet there is no long term knowledge of the toxicity or side effects (I mean for your heart) on this med. yet. And when I brought up that my Dad died at age 57 of a heart attack both doctors still recommend the Sprycel over the Gleevec.
I have the Sprycel sitting here for three days now and I plan to call the dr. tomorrow morning and ask my PCR number. I got a positive on the test results but not a quantitative number. Also, I did not have a BMB by either doctor but they did do the FISH. I have not had an EKG or any heart testing. Isnt this routine before Sprycel?
Somehow I thought seeing a doctor at a great cancer hospital in NYC would take the guesswork out of this new chapter in my life but now I am more confused than ever.
Thank you for listening. And I am grateful for finding this site.

Dx 2/2015 BCR-ABL1 (p210) 85.2% (IS) 3/15