Photo

Bone Marrow Biopsy. Is it necessary for diagnosis?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 lopez.troop

lopez.troop

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 11:53 PM

. Hi everyone. I was dx last month on 3/26/2014 so I am new to all of this. I am wondering if a bone marrow biopsy/aspiration is  necessary for CML diagnosis and  treatment monitoring? My hem/onc is highly regarded in the medical community as a hematology expert but has done all my CML testing using the peripheral blood and not actual bone marrow as this is the usual course he takes with all  of his CML patients.  My hem/onc has stated that my PCR testing will all be done using the peripheral blood and he usually orders a biopsy if I stop responding to treatment or run into complications at some point. Should I be concerned?

Thank you,

Jerry

#2 JPD

JPD

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts

Posted 27 April 2014 - 07:56 AM

I think almost all of us had one, so as to whether or not it's neccesary I dont know, but it sure seems like its the standard procedure.

January 15: .53%

April 15:       .78%

July 15:      1.1% - upped dosage to 400mg after this test

Oct 15:       .85%

December 15:  .28%

March 16: .29%

July 16: .34%

October 16: .11%

January 17: .081%

April 17: .055%

July 17: .135%

Oct 17: .008%

#3 mikefromillinois

mikefromillinois

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 27 April 2014 - 08:02 AM

My doc told me that a bone marrow biopsy was standard practice at the time of initial diagnosis to get a better handle on the progression of the disease and so on, and then a BMB was usually not necessary again as long as treatment goes well.

#4 Trey

Trey

Advanced Member

• PS Beta Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,705 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas

Posted 27 April 2014 - 10:33 AM