#1 August1

August1

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 18 September 2013 - 01:56 PM

Hi everyone,

Just had a quick question: What tests are used to check for additional Chromosome Mutations other than the typical BCR-ABL t(9:22)? By this I mean actual additional chromosomal anomalies (ACA) and not Kinase Mutations.

On my last BCR-ABL1 Gene Rearrangement Quantitative PCR test it stated the following.

P190 BCR-ABL1 Not Tested

P210 BCR-ABL1 detected

I think in my case this means I have the "classic" P210 translocation (and they didn't bother to test for P190). I was curious if they check for additional chromosomal anomalies as well or if a more specialized test is needed?

Thanks,

Bill

#2 ChrisC

ChrisC

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 39 posts

Posted 18 September 2013 - 03:10 PM

Hi Bill,

Good question. I have no idea or knowledge about other tests, and/or what they might mean, sorry. It will be interesting to learn more if/when some knowledgeable folks post their replies.

Just for the record, since I got my test results yesterday (no idea what it means):

P190 BCR-ABL1  Not Detected

P210 BCR-ABL1  Not Detected

If these are important markers for treatment, it would be good to know more.

Good luck with regaining a strong downward PCR score. At one point early on, I was off Gleevec for four weeks and my PCR and WBC increased in my next testing. After restarting Gleevec for one week I switched to Sprycel, on which I became permanently PCRU within four months.

Testing for being on the right TKI for one's individual treatment: this would be a helpful test!

ChrisC

Be alert, but not overly concerned.

• Dx Oct. 22, 2008, WBC 459k, in ICU for 2 days + in hospital 1 week

• Leukapheresis for 1 week, to reduce WBC (wasn't given Hydroxyurea)

• Oct. 28, 2008: CML confirmed, start Gleevec 400mg

• Oct. 31, 2008: sent home when WBC reached 121k

• On/off, reduced dose Gleevec for 7 months

• April 2009: Started Sprycel 100mg