7 replies to this topic

#1 jbinsd

jbinsd

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 April 2013 - 03:35 PM

Hi all,

I am new to the CML club (diagnosed on 4/2/2013 - stage 1).  I've been on Sprycel for two weeks now, hydroxyurea for three weeks, and allopurinol for three weeks.  I just got word that we're dropping the hyroxyurea from the mix which I'm happy about.

Over this last weekend, I've found that I'm noticeably more tired than usual.  Wondering whether anyone in this group had a similar result in the first month.  I just spoke with my doctor and he said that there are several things at this point that could be causing it from the Sprycel to the hydroxyurea to the body just dealing with the disease to the anxiety of having this diagnosis.  And that once we get my counts into the right area, we will be able to better sort out some of these other related issues.  That all makes perfect sense, but I'm just curious whether other folks with similar diagnoses and treatments had similar bouts of fatigue a few weeks in?

Any info is great.

Thanks,

Joel

#2 Galapago5

Galapago5

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 22 April 2013 - 04:00 PM

Hi Joel,

Sorry to hear you got put on this boat too, but you wont find a better community of folks looking to help than those here.

I had a similar experience when I was first diagnosed.  I wasn't on the hydroxyurea for quite as long (about 1 week for me), but when dealing with the emotional distress of the diagnosis along with the new medications (for me it was Gleevec), I definitely had bouts of fatigue.  The CML medications all seem to have that as a pretty common side effect.

I'm not sure how high your WBC count was when you were first diagnosed, but I was at around 340k, so I was already experiencing some fatigue just from the disease.  I would say that it's pretty normal, but keep an eye on it and as time goes on you may discover things (foods/techniques/habits) that can help combat the fatigue.