• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 teb

teb

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 05:17 PM

I haven't been able to find any recent conversations about this topic! How are people handling working and gleevec?

#2 car-guy

car-guy

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 02:54 AM

I am on Tasigna,also have degenerative disc disease, combination of both caused me to early retirement also applying for disability. I was a 30+ year auto mechanic, both side affects and pain issues made it  impossible to complete a full day of work,tried to go part-time and was not recieved well.. started application process 7-8 month's ago. process is ongoing. i just turned 50 in september. i sure hope others check in about this issue. would like to hear  how things were settled.

#3 teb

teb

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 01:21 PM

Thanks for responding to me, I do hope all goes well with  your disability application. I did apply a few months back and I am in waiting mode. I hope others do check in about this issue, it is so unsettling and I would like to hear how others are handling work issues.

#4 Susan61

Susan61

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey

Posted 26 January 2013 - 05:01 PM

Hi:  Disability can be a long drawn out process.  The best thing to do is use a lawyer to apply.  One that only gets paid if he wins your case, and then he gets a percentage of what he wins for you in your claim.  In most cases people get refused the first time they apply.  I do not know why, but it seems everyone you talk to gets denied first time around.