53 replies to this topic

#1 saiyogo

saiyogo

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 30 June 2011 - 05:31 AM

Hi everyone.

My name is Ph?m Xuân Nam, with Ph?m as the family name. I am a 22 year old student from Hanoi, Vietnam and I also am the new kid on the block. I've just been diagnosed with CML last Friday (June 24, 2011, after the bone marrow and chromosome tests). The news came as a shock to me because I had no visible symtome.

I was having a regular check up last Tuesday (June 21) and have a elevated WBC of about 34k. The doctor thought I had some kind of infection so they scheduled me to do the test 2 day later. So on Thursday (June 23) I have my blood checked again and the WBC raise to 43k (the RBC is normal and PLT is a little high at about 510k). So after that on Friday I went to the National Institute of Hematology to have a more proper check up. That day my WBC was 49k (I am a little shock why it went up so quickly).

So after the bone marrow and the chromosome test, I was diagnosed with CML and immediately received a dose of hydroxyurea (and I supposed to have Gleevec anytime soon, but because my country got Gleevec from a Norvatis donation program called Gypap, it may take awhile (about 1 month). After 3 days I came back to have my blood checked and did an ultrasonic test. My WBC at June 27 is 47k and the ultrasonic test revealed no abnormality.

Ever since last week I have been doing some research about CML and found many helpful site, such as this one. I literatually helped me to recover from the emotional breakdown that me and my family had suffered. So now I am positive that the outlook of CML is not as grim as it may seems.

There are many things that may come to me, just as the rest of you. So I want to become a part of the community and make friend with anyone around here.