• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 katherinef

katherinef

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 22 May 2011 - 07:35 AM

For those on Medicare, how often do you have pcr testing?    I'm new to medicare and have been told that medicare will pay for 2 tests per year.   While on private insurance, I got the tests every 3 months.

I don't remember what the protocol is for someone pcru for many years.     I thought pcr testing was recommended every 3 mos -- but maybe it's now every 6 mos?

I'm going to follow up with my oncologist and I'm planning to phone medicare, but thought I'd ask here.

Thanks for any info -- best wishes to all.

Kathy

dx 03

#2 Trey

Trey

Advanced Member

• PS Beta Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,705 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas

Posted 22 May 2011 - 08:44 PM

The frequency of testing depends on how recently a patient was diagnosed, whether there are complicating factor (higher risk), how well the drugs are working, etc.  Some require PCRs every 3 months or less.

#3 MJL

MJL

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 24 May 2011 - 04:51 AM

Hi Kathy, not to change the subject or your question but I have a question for you. How do you pay for your Gleevec on Medicare, or I guess I should ask, who pays for it? I have less than two years to go before I start on Medicare and it really does concern me. All this talk about the "do nut" hole and how seniors pay for thier medicines is very scary.

MJL.

#4 katherinef

katherinef

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 24 May 2011 - 06:23 AM

Hi MJL -- I'm happy to answer your question re Medicare.

With Medicare Part D in 2011 -- your out-of-pocket initial expense is $4550.   After that, you're in the catastrophic coverage and then pay 5% of the retail cost of gleevec -- or $200+ per month.    It's way too much money!