• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Taylor

Taylor

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 02 May 2011 - 11:07 AM

I've seen a lot of people mention still enjoying their morning coffee, and before diagnosis I was drinking three cups a day--sometimes two cups in a sitting--to keep from feeling too sluggish.  Now that my blood is sorted out and I'm on Tasigna it seems like one cup of strong coffee just sends my heart racing and I get the jitters.

Anyonw else notice this problem?  Maybe I just need to slowly build back up a tolerance so I can handle a cup every now and then.

#2 cfroncz1

cfroncz1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 02 May 2011 - 12:00 PM

Wow..I am so surprised. This is my first time here and I was coming to find out about any interaction between Gleevec and caffeine when I saw your post at the top of the list!!! I am seeing exactly what you are seeing...jittery and racing heart. I've been taking 400mg gleevec for just over a month now. The first 2 weeks I didn't have any caffeine. Then, I slowly started adding it back in. At first, I wouldn't have any until 2-3 hours after taking gleevec. Now, I have some before gleevec as well. I think I am having too much, causing the palpitations.  I REALLY love coffee, so if I have to stop it all together, that will really suck. It seems to be the only thing that used to relax me. Now it just causes a racing heart issue. Sorry I don't have any answers for you, but just wanted to say I am having a similar issue with Gleevec. Cheryl

#3 LivingWellWithCML

LivingWellWithCML

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 02 May 2011 - 01:29 PM

Hi all,