29 replies to this topic

#1 mcfowler33

mcfowler33

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 26 March 2011 - 01:20 AM

Hello Everyone,

First off, I guess I should introduce myself.  My name is Marcus (Marc most call me) and I am 31 years old.  I was diagnosed with CML on March 9th, 2011. 

Anyway, long story short I spent 4 days in the hospital getting my WBC down to a decent level.  When I went to the emergency room, my WBC was 420,000.  Currently down to 88,000 as of today.  Im still learning lots about this cancer and have read many threads here - I appreciate having a resource of survivors to learn from.  It is comforting to interact with people that actually have or are affected by the same disease. 

So the doc put me on Gleevec starting on the 9th along with Hydroxurea.  My question is:  How long does it take for Gleevec to start working??  The doc said it takes longer than the Hydroxurea, but how long?

Thanks in advance,

Marc

#2 JoshLee

JoshLee

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 26 March 2011 - 07:12 AM

Hi Marc,

My name is Josh. I was diagnosed in Dec of 2010. The hydro will knock your counts down pretty quickly and my guess is that you'll be stopping the hydro once you get back to a normal WBC count. Your counts may bobble around a little bit after you stop the hydro, but if your counts are normal when you stop and your are taking gleevac, they shouldn't change too much. Hope this helps! -Josh

#3 valiantchong

valiantchong

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 26 March 2011 - 08:27 AM