• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 HeatherZ

HeatherZ

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 21 March 2011 - 08:16 AM

This week (wed, 3/23) is my first cancerversary and what a year it has been.  For all of you that have been living with this for years, does it get emotionally easier than the first year?  I know I will probably never forget the date but the last few weeks have been rough emotionally thinking about the date coming up.  My husband has been teasing me because I can't even remember our wedding anniversary without looking at the date inside my wedding band yet I don't think I will ever forget the date of my cancerversary.  I am sure it will get easier as time goes by; I am still new at all this.  Does anyone have any traditions, or emotions, or anything when their cancerversary is rolling around?

Heather

dx 3/2010 G400 since

#2 jsmiddiebrush

jsmiddiebrush

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 21 March 2011 - 08:51 AM

Heather - for most of us, YES! it gets easier!!  My husband is approaching 3 years now.  The first 6 months were really bad with side effects, emotional turmoil, the whole nine yards!!  Everything started to improve significanlty after six months.  By the beginning of year 2 were were at a much better place, emotionally and his side effects were fewer.  Now, after nearly 3 years, we've pretty well got a grasp back on life in general, he's doing well and has maintained MMR for more than a year, and is working full time again.  We are planning a trip to Ireland this summer!   I'll have to check the dates but we MAY actually be in Ireland on his 3 year "cancerversary"

And no, we don't have any traditions related to his diagnosis, which seem to come in bits and pieces:  A referreal to the oncologist,  an appointment with the oncologist, then some tests, then a followup appointment with the oncologiest at which point the tests weren't back yet....etc.