Photo

On Sprycel for 1 month PLT dropped to 16 is this normal?

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Zu-ko

Zu-ko

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 11 March 2011 - 11:05 AM

I was diagnosised with CML July 2010. I was on Gleevec for 6 months then taken off because my WBC and PLT kept dropping. I was put on 100 mg Srycel last month but have recently been taken off 2 weeks ago because PLT were 29 , went  in yesterday and they have droppedto 16. My Dr says once my counts come up he will start me on 80 mg of Srycel. Has anyone else had this experience?

#2 JoshLee

JoshLee

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 11 March 2011 - 12:06 PM

Hi,

I've been on Tasigna for 5 weeks now and at the end of week 4 my plts dropped down to 81...I think 16 is pretty low? I am not a doctor, but my onc. has told me that below 50 may be dangerous. I am not trying to worry you, but maybe a platlet transfusion would be appropriate? I think it is normal for counts to drop pretty low at first and then start to slowly rebuild and I think I remeber reading that platelts can sometimes be the last to recover. This information I am giving you is basically bits and pieces of info I have picked up from reading other postings on this board. This is all new to me so I am by no means claiming to be knowledgeable...There are some pretty smart people on this board though that may be able to give you some really good concrete info. Good luck and best wishes for awesome counts in the future! -Josh

#3 Trey

Trey

Advanced Member

• PS Beta Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,705 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas

Posted 11 March 2011 - 12:30 PM

Not so much normal, but also not rare.  Women tend to have more of a problem with this.

First, the platelet number is likely 16,000 but the docs say 16 or 150 or whatever.  Normal range is 150,000 to 400,000.  But verify the 16,000 number just to be sure.