• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 cjones212

cjones212

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 02:41 PM

Hello... I was diagnosed with CML in November of 2010, started 400mg of Gleevec daily in early December, so I am still a bit of a newbie to all of this.

The Gleevec has definitely helped, my WBC are below normal, a big change from my initial diagnosis.  I had a bad bout of anemia, but had some iron iv infusions and now just slightly below normal.  My doctor has been pleased and is already only seeing me every three months (lab work once a month).

As you all know, my body has been doing some pretty crazy things.  Bathroom issues, nausea from the meds, low grade fever, bruising... Nothing too severe, just new and (I guess) permanent change to my world.  I have been able to handle most things with over the counter remedies and the tips from this discussion group.

One thing that is challenging though is night sweats.  I have tried lower temps in my bedroom, and not much in the way of sleepwear, but they still persist.  I can be chilly when I get into bed, but wake up in a puddle.  Friends have suggested that i should take OTC medicine for fevers before I go to bed, but I don't want to start that every night if there is another remedy that I haven't tried.  Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Xtopher

PS - Thanks to everyone who is contributing to these discussion boards.  It has been a lifesaver for me to know that you understand the good days, and the rotten days.  Even if this is my first post, I have been "lurking" since the beginning.

#2 SunNsand

SunNsand

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 08:17 PM

Hi Christopher and welcome!

I don't have an answer for you, only a suggestion to hang in there. My night sweats diminished probably by about the 6th month on Gleevec, so hopefully, they will soon be gone for you too.

SunNsand

#3 WoofWoof

WoofWoof

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 09:09 PM