Photo

Boyfriend was recently diagnosed and I am lost and scared.

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 bushygoose

bushygoose

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 01 December 2014 - 12:59 PM

I am new to all of this and don't even know where to start.  About 3 weeks ago my boyfriend was diagnosed with CML.  For the two months prior to being diagnosed, he was sick with pains and wouldn't accept that it could be something more than his other medical conditions. Him being sick and in pain for those two months put a damper on our relationship. Things started to change for the worse and we started to pull away from each other.  The night before we went to the emergency room because he realized that something was truly wrong by weighing himself and noticing he lost 20 lbs., we talked about the problems we were having and vowed to fix them.  Again we did not know he had cancer and that was the cause. We were thinking that he was just not feeling well and my doctor changing my medications for those two months was the major effect.  

We ended up in the emergency room and again no one was real sure to the problem. They came back hours later to let us know his white blood count was critically high and he may have cancer. Again no real details just a scare from the ER doctor.  The next day we met with multiple doctors all who had opinions but nothing substantial.  At the same time, he had friends come to the hospital that kept insisting on getting rid of me before we knew what was going on.  Being that I am in love with this man, I stayed as long as I physically could, going on no sleep for 2 days.