#2 Susan61

Susan61

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey

Posted 15 May 2013 - 08:31 PM

Hi Gerry:  I am glad you posted that for people to read.  Especially all the newcomers we have gotten recently.

I am not good at explaining all the intricate lab terms like others, and I always mention that.

I just want to help people to relax, knowing how treatable CML is.

When I was diagnosed the doctor walked into the room after my BMB to give me the results.  He said the Bad News is you have Leukemia, but the Good News is that you have one that is very treatable.  You figure that was back in 1998.

Susan

#3 GerryL

GerryL

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 15 May 2013 - 08:50 PM

Hi Susan,

As I've mentioned previously - your help to the newbies and also to those of us that have been on the road a little while is invaluable. 

#4 Susan61

Susan61

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey

Posted 15 May 2013 - 10:35 PM

Hi Gerry:  I just say all the things that I needed someone to say to me when I was diagnosed.  None of us knew Anything or what the future would hold.  Truthfully, I did not plan on a future.  The worse thing for me was that there was no TKI available yet when the Interferon and Ara-C did not work for me.  You just do not forget those days ever.

I had to do just Hydrea for a whole year, until I got into the trial for the Gleevec.  I had doctors sending me all over the place to get ready for a BMT.

I talk about my Faith in God a lot, because that is what got me through those days back then.  My Faith is what keeps me going even to this day.

Glad your doing well, and everyone else who is kicking the butt of CML.

I hope all our newbies read what you posted and see what all the advances in treatment has done through the years.

Hugs

Susan

#5 GerryL

GerryL

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 15 May 2013 - 11:44 PM

Hi Susan,