• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jcastillo

jcastillo

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 03:53 PM

Hi everybody! This is my first time posting here. I was diagnosed in 2006 with CML. Started treatment with Gleevec but the side effects were horrible. Since 2009 I've been taking Sprycel. I came out of remission once in 2010 and my oncologist upped the dose from 50mg to 100mg and I was good. About 2 to 3 months ago I've been having some serious nasuea and stomach pain so my oncologist did a special test. When it came back he said my WBC was normal (9k) but my CML cause was still there. He showed me a chart on how it works and everything and recomended I switch to Tasigna. I trust my oncologist blindly, I said whatever you think is necessary I'll do. But, after I got home I researched Tasigna. Now, I know all these type of drugs, specially these new ones, come with a certain cardiac risk. But Tasigna seems the most prone to and the most warned about from the ones. I've always been a bit of a hypochondriac, heck,  writing this aches my chest. But when it comes to my heart, I panic a bit more. I recently had an irregular heart beat to which I went to Northwestern for. I had a series of test, and everything came back normal. They did an ECG a topo to check for any heart damage and the only they came back with was low pottasium level which could've caused my irregular heart beat. I started to eat healthier since, and also exercise more. I lost some weight. Got my blood pressure down and I'm doing great health and cardiac wise. My heart can go as low as 60 bpm now which for me, is incredible, I've always, up until 3 months ago, consumed high sodium foods and lots of red meat. I've stopped all that since I started reading more about the cardiac side effects of all these treatments. Im a bit worried about Tasigna. What are your expierences for those taking it now?

Thanks guys!

#2 Lori's okay

Lori's okay

• Members
  • PipPip