18 replies to this topic

#1 Calalily

Calalily

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 05:22 PM

Hello,

I'm brand new to all this. I've being diagnosed with CML post bone marrow biopsy. I'm 30. Finding it all rather daunting at the moment but have found this forum and Trey's blog a great source of info so far! I'm just wondering if you can help me re the drugs. At the moment my options are Gleevac or Tasigna. My thing is that I know people have been on Gleevac for years so it's been proven to give good results and people are surviving well on this drug but reading between the lines there are various side effects . While Tasigna seems to provide quicker results i'm worried about the long term outcome on Tasigna because it's so new and again the side effects. I'm actually seriously stressing about how I will cope on the drugs- my tummy is dodgy at the best of times! Also I would take paracetemol/ ibuprofen for headaches etc and will I be able to continue to take these when necessary. Hoping when i get started on the medications, i'll calm down a bit! I really dread the bone marrow tests too- they are nasty!!!

Thanks folks and best wishes,

Calalily

#2 cam_kris

cam_kris

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 05:54 PM

Hi Calalily!

I am so sorry to hear that were dx with CML but glad you found this site.  I was dx back in March and this website has indeed helped me in many ways.  You will get lots of your questions answered here by people that have / are going through the very same thing as you are