6 replies to this topic

#1 cwade61

cwade61

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:43 PM

Hello all,

I'm a 25-year-old living with CML in Michigan. I'm currently a college student in my senior year, and I turn 26 on August 31. My father's insurance will be dropping me that day. I was unable to get a new policy because of my pre-existing condition, so I'm forced to start COBRA through my dad's insurance. The copays for medication and treatment are extremely affordable, but the premium for the policy is $600/month. This puts me in a bind, because my dad wants me to finish school, but I know he can't afford the payments.

I guess I'm looking for resources for COBRA assistance. Everything that I have found thus far pertains to co-payment assistance, and that really does nothing for me. If anyone has any information, it would be extremely appreciated.

Charlie

#2 hannibellemo

hannibellemo

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • LocationNorth Central Iowa

Posted 21 August 2012 - 10:00 PM

Hi, Charlie,

I don't have any answers for you, per se. If you will search in the upper right corner with the key word

"Insurance" you will find some earlier discussions.

Also, there is a discussion board on this site for "Financial and Insurance Issues". Hope this offers some help.

Pat

Pat

"You can't change the direction of the wind but you can adjust your sails."

DX 12/08; Gleevec 400mg; liver toxicity; Sprycel 100mg.; CCyR 4/10; MMR 8/10; Pleural Effusion 2/12; Sprycel 50mg. Maintaining MMR; 2/15 PCRU; 8/16 drifting in and out of undetected like a wave meeting the shore. Retired 12/23/2016! 18 months of PCRU, most recent at Mayo on 7/25/17 was negative at their new sensitivity reporting of 0.003.<p>

#3 Susan61

Susan61

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey

Posted 21 August 2012 - 10:29 PM