2 replies to this topic

#1 sdl722

sdl722

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 22 June 2012 - 08:56 AM

Hi all,

Is there a recommended frequency with which one should get PCR testing done after the first year of treatment? 

I was diagnosed in April 2011 and have been on 800mg daily of Tasigna.  I am on a research protocol with MD Anderson so for the first year I had monthly blood tests and quarterly bone marrow aspirations and PCR tests.  At 3 months I had achieved CCyR and have maintained that (all confirmed by the aspiration).  In April at the one year mark my PCR was down to 1.31% on MD Anderson scale (at diagnosis it was over 100%).  My PCR number has trended down at every test. 

Now that I am in my second year of treatment I move to 3 month blood tests and 6 months aspirations.  I have my next blood draw in a few weeks and according to the research nurse, she said I wouldn't have a PCR test done...just the CBC and CMP.  My next PCR would be in October which would be 6 months since the last one. 

What is everyone's thoughts on waiting 6 months for my next PCR?  The NCCN guidelines don't really discuss frequency of PCR so I wasn't sure if I should push for the PCR done at 15 months or wait until October.

Thanks everyone!

Stephen

#2 Trey

Trey

Advanced Member

• PS Beta Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,705 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas

Posted 22 June 2012 - 11:58 AM