• Please log in to reply
219 replies to this topic

#1 Laila98

Laila98

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 10 February 2012 - 07:30 PM

I was diagnosed on feb 7th 2012 with CML and very scared. I don't really understand everything that's going on and reading about it makes me cry more then already do. I got some numbers for help because I have no insurance, I'm a student and my dad was suppose to have insurance for me but I guess didnt? So here I am wondering wth I'm gonna do since the doctor wants me to take tasigna but it's expensive and I obviously can not afford it. My dad said he is going to figure something out but I'm sitting here crying because I don't want to die while he's trying to "figure it out". I guess I just wanted to say I was new to the site and just looking for some friends for support. My mom left a few years ago so it's just my dad and me and he's not very sensative, he just keeps telling me to stop crying and he'll "figure it out".  He told me not to tell my friends or family so people don't treat me any differently, that we are not a charity case and don't need any attention from others. Am I abnormal to cry? Am I abnormal period now? He makes me feel like a leapord, does anyone else feel "different"? I am lonely and confused.... hope I can become apart of ya'll and close like ya'll see to be..

xo Laila

#2 jjg

jjg

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts

Posted 10 February 2012 - 07:47 PM

HI Laila,

Firstly I'm sorry about your diagnosis, it's very early on for you and entirely normal for you to be scared. I didn't cry  at first but I did cry later. It's good for you!!!! You are still just as much a normal human as you were before dx and most normal humans need comfort when things go wrong, even if they don't/can't admit it. The chances are your Dad is crying inside for you but doesn't know how to let it out.