#1 JMGrad

JMGrad

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, TX

Posted 31 January 2012 - 01:20 PM

Hi everyone,

My name is Jean, Im 35 and I was dignosed with CML (positive for the Philidelphia Chromosome) about 2 weeks ago. I started taking Gleevec a week later and am supposed to have a blood draw tomorrow.  I was referred to this site by my Oncologist and I LOVE it! Everyone seems so friendly and understanding. Its very comforting to know that I can find others who can associate and understand what I am going through.

I am still learning a lot about CML and have a question. Ive been working as a diagnostic Xray Tech for 6 years now and I was wondering if maybe being exposed to the radiation might have caused the chromosome switch? I read that it would take an exposure equivalent to that of an atomic bomb - but I am exposed to live radiation daily. I guess my most pressing question is not really HOW I got it, but will working as a Xray tech, still being exposed, will that counter the work that the Gleevec is doing? Am I making the fight that much harder? I want to help my body and way I can...

Thank you so much for such a great site!!

Jean

#2 Trey

Trey

Advanced Member

• PS Beta Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,705 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas

Posted 31 January 2012 - 01:33 PM

Welcome.  Diagnostic Xrays have not been connected to causing CML, but there is also no way to say it is impossible.  Generally, it seems unlikely that a build-up of small exposures would be a cause, since the CML translocation is a single event that occurs all at once.  So the relationship between the two is doubtful.

As related to drug effectiveness and Xray tech work, there would be no negative impact.  If it were me, I would have no issue continuing to work as an Xray tech while being treated for CML. 

This may help you get started:

http://community.lls.org/message/23025

#3 Rissa

Rissa

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • LocationMaryland