• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Teresabourgeois

Teresabourgeois

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 23 October 2011 - 04:03 PM

In 2008 I began coughing and was treated with enough steroids and asthma medicines to sink a ship.  Nothing ever seemed to work.  Before 2008 I did not have Asthma.  Then 2/ 2011, hello CML.  I've been coughing for 3 years now.  It seems much worse since leukemia and Sprycel.  My question is, does anyone think that I could have had CML since 2008 when the coughing began.  2nd:  Has anyone else had breathing issues such as Asthma?  Since I'm on Sprycel and a clinical study at MD Anderson, steroids are not allowed.  I was allowed 2 weeks to take steroids but my blood pressure shot  up too high.  I'm sure there is already a thread here somewhere about this, but "oh well"  Thanking yall in advance.

#2 Susan61

Susan61

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey

Posted 23 October 2011 - 06:05 PM

Hi:  Sprycel does cause a lot of edema in the lungs.  I know someone who is not on the discussions here, who is on Sprycel.  She has so much fluid in her voicebox since she went on the Sprycel.  I have trouble understanding her on the phone when we talk.  Is it really Asthma would be my question?

I was told I had Asthma many years ago, before my CML.  Turns out I do have very bad sinus problems with a constant drip down into my throat and chest, and now they just say its COPD from the years that I was a smoker.  I do have a cough all the time, but I am on Gleevec.

That is another good question for anyone on Gleevec, if they have noticed a cough since they went on Gleevec.

Susan

#3 Trey

Trey

Advanced Member

• PS Beta Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,705 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas

Posted 23 October 2011 - 08:16 PM